As our past board members retire ICAN thanks Mercedeh Momeni, Hamida Karama and Youssef Mahmoud and previously Rajeev Pillai for their incredible dedication and support to the organization during its nascent years. With their guidance, ICAN grew from strength to strength, with an organizational structure that allows for flexibility, expanded programming to meet partners’ needs and adapted to changes in the global context, while remaining true to its original vision and mission. Their contributions will always be valued and remembered.

Together with the Honorable Senator Mobina Jaffer, the Chair of the ICAN Board of Directors, we are now delighted to announce the appointment of three new members to our Board. We feel privileged to have such expertise and we are confident that their wisdom, creativity and commitment to ICAN’s mission and vision will help us expand our reach and impact. Our new board members are:

Deeyah Khan, an Emmy and Peabody award-winning and two times BAFTA nominated documentary film director, and founder of Fuuse. In 2016, she became the first UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador for artistic freedom and creativity. More about Ms. Khan here;

Haideh Chubin, the Washington based Managing Director in Deloitte’s Advisory practice working within the Federal industry. She has over 22 years of experience in leading diverse contracts and large projects in supporting a wide range of Federal agencies. More about Ms. Chubin here; and

Marie-Joëlle Zahar, Professor of Political Science, Director of the Research Network on Peace Operations and Fellow at the Centre for International Research and Studies at the Université de Montréal. More about Prof. Zahar here.

We welcome them with joy and feel honored to have them as part of the ICAN community and the Women’s Alliance for Security Leadership (WASL).

+1 202 986 0952

1126 16th Street NW Suite 250, Washington, DC 20036

Share This